Tenille Townes Takes Home 5 Canadian Country Music Association Awards

September 12, 2022

Commemorating its 10th year in Calgary, the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) celebrated the 40th Annual CCMA Awards on Sunday, Sept. 11, at the Scotiabank Saddledome. Calgary’s own Tenille Townes owned the night with four award wins, including the coveted Entertainer of the Year and holding on to her title of Spotify Female Artist of the Year for the fourth consecutive year.

In addition to her win from Saturday night's gala (Songwriter(s) of the Year), Townes also celebrated wins in the Album of the Year (Masquerades) and Single of the Year categories.

Taking home the title of Male Artist of the Year, Dallas Smith also celebrated with fans when he earned the Amazon Music and Alexa Fans’ Choice Award. His win was preceded by The Reklaws celebrating a second Group or Duo of the Year win. The evening was rounded out with Andrew Hyatt earning his first-ever CCMA Award in the Rising Star category.

On Sept. 10, the CCMA celebrated wins in 29 categories at the CCMA Music Industry Gala Dinner & Awards and also honoured recipients of the Gary Slaight Music Humanitarian Award and the Hank Smith Award of Excellence. Rounding out the evening with special moments surrounding the 2022 Hall of Fame inductions, the gala kicked off the first of two awards ceremonies being held this weekend in Calgary.

The evening revealed five first-time CCMA Award winners — Hailey Benedict (Interactive Artist or Group of the Year), Nice Horse (Video of the Year), Brandi Sidoryk (Bass Player of the Year), Starseed Entertainment (Management Company of the Year), and Austin Chaffe (Creative Director(s) of the Year). In addition, Matt McKay became the next member of the Musicians Hall of Honour, earning his fifth Guitar Player of the Year win.

2022 CCMA Awards co-host and this year’s most-nominated artist, Tenille Townes, took home her first award (Songwriter(s) of the Year) while Jade Eagleson, 2022’s most nominated male artist, celebrated a win in the Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year for his sophomore release, Honkytonk Revival.


Entertainer of the Year

Tenille Townes

Album of the Year

Masquerades — Tenille Townes

Amazon Music and Alexa Fans' Choice

Dallas Smith

Spotify Female Artist of the Year

Tenille Townes

Group or Duo of the Year

The Reklaws

Male Artist of the Year

Dallas Smith

Single of the Year

“Girl Who Didn’t Care” — Tenille Townes

Rising Star

Andrew Hyatt

Drummer of the Year

Matthew Atkins

Fiddle Player of the Year

Denis Dufresne

Specialty Instrument Player of the Year

Mitch Jay

Bass Player of the Year

Brandi Sidoryk

Steel Guitar Player of the Year

Mitch Jay

Keyboard Player of the Year

Brendan Waters

Guitar Player of the Year presented by PRS Guitars

Matt McKay

Country Music Program or Special of the Year

Pure Country Top 50 Of 2021 Hosted By Shannon Ella With Special Guests Dustin Lynch & MacKenzie Porter - Bell Media

Creative Director(s) of the Year

Design Team: Austin Chaffe

Brand Identity (Artist: Dean Brody), Album: Honkytonk Revival (Artist: Jade Eagleson), Single: More Drinkin' Than Fishin' (Artist: Jade Eagleson, Dean Brody) Brand Identity (Artist: Nate Haller), Single: What The Truck (Artist: The Reklaws & Sacha), Ad Material: Winter's A Beach (Artist: The Reklaws)

Management Company of the Year

Starseed Entertainment

Recording Studio of the Year

MCC Recording Studio - Calgary, AB

Top Selling Album of the Year

Dangerous: The Double Album – Morgan Wallen

Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year presented by Music Canada

Honkytonk Revival – Jade Eagleson

Top Selling Canadian Single of the Year

What The Truck – The Reklaws & Sacha

Music Publishing Company of the Year presented by CMRRA

Anthem Entertainment

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year presented by ACTRA RACS

Hailey Benedict

Booking Agency of the Year

Sakamoto Agency

Ron Sakamoto Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year

Paul Biro - Sakamoto Agency

Industry Person of the Year

Brianne Deslippe - Big Loud Records - VP International

Country Personality(ies) of the Year

Paul Ferguson - CHCQ-FM

Record Company of the Year

Warner Music Canada

Radio Station of the Year (Medium or Small Market)

CHCQ-FM – Belleville, ON

Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)

CFCW – Edmonton, AB

Retailer of the Year

Apple Music

Alternative Country Album of the Year

Songs My Friends Wrote - Corb Lund

Songwriter(s) of the Year presented by SOCAN

Steph Jones, David Pramik, Tenille Townes

Song: Girl Who Didn’t Care (Performed By: Tenille Townes)

Record Producer(s) of the Year

Joey Moi

Single: Hide From A Broken Heart (Artist: Dallas Smith)

Video Director of the Year

Ben Knechtel

Video: More Drinkin' Than Fishin' (Artist: Jade Eagleson & Dean Brody), Video: Pretty Please (Artist: SACHA), Video: She Don't Know (Artist: Jade Eagleson), Video: Somewhere To Drink (Artist: Nate Haller, The Reklaws, Brett Kissel), Video: Trust Issues (Artist: Robyn Ottolini)

Video of the Year

High School - Nice Horse

Gary Slaight Music Humanitarian Award

The Unison Fund

CCMA Hall of Fame Inductions

George Fox, Randall Prescott

Hank Smith Award of Excellence

Ollie Strong